August 7, Miami-Whitewater

I headed out to Miami-Whitewater with the intention of painting the summer wildflowers in the meadows at the west entrance, but I was disappointed to find it not much different from the view I painted in June. There were some nice ironweed and black-eyed susan blooming at some places in the meadow, but not in the view I intended to paint. There was a lot of goldenrod  coming up, but it will be a few weeks until it is in full bloom.  Instead, I tried a view of Dry Fork, swollen from rains the day before. Looking downstream, I found a nice view with some good perspective. Late afternoon light was filtered through the trees, throwing shadows across the water.

My easel by Dry Fork

My easel by Dry Fork

"Dry Fork After a Rain"  14 x 11 acrylic on panel

"Dry Fork After a Rain" 14 x 11 acrylic on panel

Leave a Reply

