August 6, Winton Woods

Today I decided to reprise a scene from Winton Woods. The last time I painted this creek with a shale exposure, there was ice on the creek and icicles on the cliff. Now the scene is draped in green.  As I worked, a small butterfly (a Hackberry Butterfly, I think) landed on the post of my easel, and sat with me for over an hour while I worked. I guess he was tasting the salt left by sweaty hands.

My easel set up at the creek

My easel set up at the creek

A butterfly kept me company as I worked

A butterfly kept me company as I worked

Summer Creek 11 x 14 acrylic on panel

Summer Creek 11 x 14 acrylic on panel

The same scene painted in February

The same scene painted in February

Leave a Reply

