June 27, Glenwood Gardens

I headed to Glenwood again to see if I could capture more of the spectacular wildflower meadow displays.  Hiking out the Wetlands Trail, I was amazed to find that much of it had been mowed!  I’ll assume that this was part of a management plan, and not just “maintenance,” as it definitely uglified the area. They spared the most spectacular displays, fortunately.

I ended up passing by the most colorful fields, mostly because it was hot and I needed to paint in the shade. I suppose I could haul an umbrella and stand with me, but when you’re walking miles to your painting site, it just isn’t practical. I picked a spot looking down into a field surrounded by forest, with a thick growth of Queen Ann’s lace in the foreground. It was very nice when the sun was out, so-so when cloud shadows passed by. I worked on blocking in the  tree masses and detail when it was cloudy, and worked on the color when the sun came out again. I played tag with the sun all afternoon.  Occasionally, I thought the thickening cumulus would turn into a thunderstorm, but that never happened.  There were only a few hikers on this Monday afternoon. I saw more rabbits than people. It should be a good year for Red Tailed Hawks!

My easel set up on the Wetlands Trail

My easel set up on the Wetlands Trail

"Glenwood Queen Ann's Lace" 12 x 9 acrylic on panel

"Glenwood Queen Ann's Lace" 12 x 9 acrylic on panel

Leave a Reply

