July 21, Glenwood Gardens

"Wetlands Trail Meadow"  14 x 11, acrylic on panel

"Wetlands Trail Meadow" 14 x 11, acrylic on panel

I headed back to Glenwood Gardens to paint the meadows again. The wildflower display is spectacular now, so I might be doing this a couple more times. today I stopped along the Wetlands Trail, taking a service road a few dozen meters off the main trail. A hillside with some interesting trees loomed, glowing with Black-Eyed Susans, Purple Coneflower, Bergamot, Queen Ann’s Lace, and etc.   The most challenging part of the painting was not doing the multitudes of blooms, but recreating the complicated mass of greenery beneath them.  I think I managed it fairly well, using a fan brush and a sponge over a base color.  I painted in individual leaves in the foreground, leaving the more distant parts somewhat impressionistic.

Indigo Buntings, Towhees and cardinals serenaded me as I worked. Insects sounds are starting to increase, headed to their peak in the last of the warm August weather.

Painting a meadow on the Wetlands Trail

Painting a meadow on the Wetlands Trail

Leave a Reply

